Daydreamer: Stress Reduction Post #1

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been a little stressed lately. There have been lots of changes happening in my life, and my proposal writing is in full swing. One of my favourite ways to reduce stress is to take a short break and daydream. I imagine myself somewhere else and all the current stresses of today temporarily disappear. (I also use this technique before bed and I fall asleep very quickly!) These are a few of my favourite daydream escapes:

– being with my partner in the Maldives, staying in a cute little private hut. I imagine feeling the warmth heat of the sun, the silky sand between my toes, and taking a dip in the salt water ocean.

 
– picturing our first home and how I would decorate it. Pinterest helps fuel my creativity for this one. I picture a large backyard with a calming fountain, colourful playroom for baby E, and a big white kitchen for entertaining.

   
 – owning a cottage in Muskoka. My dream one day is to own a nice property up North where all my friends and family can visit. BBQ-ing, boating, and watching the kids play sounds like a perfect weekend retreat.

  
– my wedding. I imagine walking down the aisle, after ring bearer baby E, in my backless lace dress. I also imagine letting loose and dancing with my favourite people.

  
– soaking in a tub. I found this picture on Pinterest a while back and I found it to be so calming. Water has such a soothing effect on me and the view of nature brings internal peace.

  
What daydreams do you find relaxing? Where’s your happy place?

  
(Happy Gilmore reference, anyone?)

– K.

Leave a Reply

